The ELM Tree of Mastery

The ELM Tree of Mastery

There are two kinds of winners in sports.

The first kind of winner is the team that has scored the most at the end of a game. This is the Scoreboard winner.

The second kind of winner is the Mastery winner. A Mastery winner gives consistently great effort, continually learns, and bounces back from mistakes.

We want to be both Scoreboard and Mastery winners.

The more you work at being a Mastery winner, the more likely you are to be a Scoreboard winner. And the more you work at being a Mastery winner, the more likely you are to be a winner in life!

To help remember the important parts of mastery, we use the ELM Tree of Mastery. In ELM, the E is for Effort, the L is for Learning and the M is for Mistakes are OK. 

E - is for Effort.

We’ll give our best effort in every practice and game. It’s more important that you try your hardest than if you win. If you win without giving it your best effort, that win doesn’t mean much. But if you play a strong team and try your hardest and lose, you should still be proud of yourself and your team.

L - is for Learning.

Continue learning and improving every time you play the game. If you continue to learn, you will get better. Getting better than you are now is more important than whether or not you are better than some other team. You can also think of this as competing with yourself; if you get better than you used to be, then you are winning that competition.

M - is for Mistakes.

Nobody likes to make mistakes, but mistakes are part of learning. You can’t learn without making mistakes, because to learn you have to try things that are new and challenging, so of course you are going to make mistakes. It is okay to make mistakes.

So, remember, as long as you give your best Effort, Learn and are not afraid of Mistakes, you are climbing the ELM Tree of Mastery, and you’ll be a winner in sports and in life.

This blog provided by the Positive Coaching Alliance